As of 2010 New Jersey requires new teen drivers to comply with their Graduated Driver’s License (GDL) program.
New Jersey’s GDL program is a multi-step program that ultimately allows new teen drivers to obtain an unrestricted driver’s license.
Teen drivers are able to drive under the supervision of a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old and who has a minimum of 3 years driving experience.
Teens in New Jersey are eligible for a probationary license if they have complied with the following requirements.
In New Jersey, teen drivers are eligible for a basic driver’s license if they are at least 18 years old and have held a probationary license for a minimum of one year.
New Jersey requires every driver to carry valid liability insurance.
New Jersey provides drivers with two minimum options for purchasing insurance and staying in compliance with state law.
The Standard Policy is a typical insurance policy carrying the state’s minimum insurance coverage:
The Basic Policy allows drivers to comply with the state law but provides very minimal protection:
Because New Jersey offers different options for complying with the state’s insurance laws, working with a local insurance professional to help you select the best policy for your needs is the best way to make sure you are in compliance with the law and properly protected.
Uninsured drivers in New Jersey face very strict penalties including fines between $300 and $1,000; license suspension for up to a year and court ordered community service. They are also subject to a mandatory state surcharge of $250.00 per year for three years. This means that even in the best circumstances, driving without insurance will cost more than $1,000 over the course of three years. Working with a New Jersey insurance agent can help you avoid these expensive penalties.
As of 2010 New Jersey requires new teen drivers to...
New Hampshire is one of the few states in the U.S....
Unlike most states, Nevada does not employ a graduated...
Nebraska employs a multi-step licensing program which...
Like many states in the U.S., Montana uses a graduated...
For parents or caretakers we have information on when you should start shopping for auto insurance for your teen driver, what things you should consider when deciding on the car your child should drive, what factors determine the cost of auto insurance policies and how to pick the best coverage for your teen and family.
For teen drivers we have information on individual policies, how different cars will affect your insurance costs, how much insurance you should carry to protect yourself and your passengers and what kinds of discounts you might qualify for.
We also have information on driving safety and the emergency supplies you may want to keep in your car. We have a checklist for what to do at the scene of an accident if you are a witness or are involved in an accident. We’ve also prepared some helpful information on what to do after an accident happens and what the insurance claims process is like.
So take a look around and we are sure you will find the information you are looking for!